My 1st TTC Blog Post

I started this blog of mine back in 2016, when I was a newlywed 20 year old. I mostly wrote about my experience overcoming an eating disorder, but now, 5 years later, I’m here to talk about something I didn’t ever really think about until this year: trying to conceive my first child.

We’ve been trying since February of 2021, so it hasn’t been too too long, objectively, but we thought it would be simple and quick, and that nine months later, hopefully sometime in 2022, we’d have a baby in our little family.

I didn’t think it would be this emotionally and physically draining. I didn’t expect to feel heartbreak when I get my period, instead of a mild annoyance like before.

I was naiive to believe that sex equals pregnancy and pregnancy equals a baby. It’s so much more complicated than that, and I feel like we should teach our children that instead of basic sex education….but that’s an entirely different blog post 🙂

The bottom line is, yes, this is difficult for us, and waiting and trying is not fun or easy, but I know it will be worth it. Whether we conceive naturally, through scientific intervention, or adoption, we will be parents one day. That’s what really matters.

I’m grateful to have found an online community that thrives on vulnerability. We can cry together as we menstruate, commiserate as we watch our friends announce their new bundles of joy as we ache for our wombs to be occupied by our own precious children. Most importantly, we encourage each other and help keep up the hope for the future. Thanks for being here with me. 💙

Leave a comment