why I choose to reject diet culture

I’m sitting at the kitchen table eating a turkey sandwich. It tastes good. It will give me energy. It will keep my tummy happy for a few hours.

That is it. That is why I reject diet culture.

Diet culture tells you to limit the number of calories you consume because if you don’t burn them off you will accumulate fat and look bad.

What I say? I’m eating a sandwich because I need to be kind to my body. I need to eat calories in order to feel healthy and enthusiastic about my day. I can’t spend the day micromanaging my macros and weighing every single ingredient to make sure I don’t eat too much.

I love eating. I love the way it makes me feel because it is natural to want to nourish myself.

I love walking. I love the way it makes me feel because it is natural to want to nourish myself.

I love sleeping. I love the way it makes me feel because it is natural to want to nourish yourself.

Diet culture is backwards and tells you to deny or severely restrict your basic needs for fats, oils, sugar, carbohydrates, salt, etc.

Instead of cutting out the “bad things”, why not indulge in the “good things”? A warm chocolate chip cookie fresh from the oven, a crisp apple, a beading glass of cold lemonade.

Seek out the sources of good. Eat lots of sweet fruits and fleshy vegetables because they are beautiful and they make your mind sharp and give your body nutrients and vitamins.

Eat bread and pasta because it keeps you full and it’ll alleviate your annoyances with an empty stomach when you neglect your need for carbs.
Listen to your body, of course. If you are full and satisfied, you don’t need to eat dessert if you feel pressured to by someone else. There are two sides to this ideal.

Leave diet culture behind because all it ever gave you was hunger, a void, a bottomless pit in your heart.

Embrace your body and TRUE sense of health by choosing what to consume with care but not to the point of anxiety and calorie-counting catatonia. Cherish being human! Relish every bite, every drop, each sip.

I love you guys. Hang in there 💖

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment